Stomp Records 26th Anniversary – Night 2 – 11 December 2021

Scroll this

With the crazy windstorm the city is experiencing tonight, going out was always going to be a game-time decision.  Is it gonna be safe to drive?  Is it safe to leave my house?  Then the power goes out, and the decision makes itself.  I mean, what would you do with your Saturday night; stay in your dark house trying to find something to do that doesn’t require electricity or head out to the city to feast on some punk music?!  So out I go.

I arrive at Fouf’s just in time to catch Burlington’s The Creepshow for the first time, and I am immediately happy I made the effort to venture out.  The set explodes out of the gates in a flurry of raucous psychobilly, Sean “Sickboy” McNab thrashing at the upright bass on Run For Your Life as a huge mosh pit erupts in conjunction with a huge singalong at the chorus.

The mosh pit morphs into a circle pit on Creatures Of The Night, drawing a big smile from vocalist Kenda “Twisted” Legaspi, before Sean pokes fun at our woeful hockey team; “this is a sing about the Montreal Canadiens; it’s called Born To Lose!”  Normally a Montreal crowd would boo a comment like that, but hey, he’s not wrong…

Their merch guy gets in on the party too, dancing at the back of the stage, but nobody tells the Security guy who rushes the stage to throw out the invader… thankfully. He spots his Backstage Pass in time and leaves him to bust his moves in peace.  After a thunderous Death At My Door, Sticks & Stones is dedicated to Stomp Records, whose 25 Anniversary is the reason for tonight’s party.  With Sean’s double bass propped at 45°, Kenda climbs up on top of it for Rue Morgue Radio, before Get What’s Coming closes out the 45-minute set in storming fashion.

The Creepshow Setlist

  • See You in Hell
  • Run For Your Life
  • Creatures Of The Night
  • Born to Lose
  • Zombies Ate Her Brain
  • Grave Diggers
  • Forgotten Ones
  • Buried Alive
  • Shake
  • Death at my door
  • Sticks & stones
  • The Devil’s Son
  • Rue Morgue Radio
  • Get What’s Coming

I first saw The Planet Smashers at Fouf’s probably around 12 or 13 years ago, so it seems kinda poetic that I’m back here in the same room with them in 2021.  Tonight they elect to celebrate by playing their 2001 record No Self Control from top to bottom; frontman Matt Collyer proclaims “we’re doing a long set, I hope ya got it in ya!”  The packed crowd is ready for them too, busting the moves from song 1 and not stopping until the 80-minute set is done.

These full-album shows are always fun, as the classics you always hear at their shows are mixed in with the lesser-played songs; Struggle, track 7 of the record, has apparently only been played live twice, but is delivered so flawlessly it’s as if they’d played it every night since they first got together in 1993.

As that record winds down, Matt thanks all the bands on the bill, all the bands they’ve ever worked with, and of course, the rabid crowd; he actually sounds like he’s getting a little choked up.  Still, Record Collector soon blows away the serious sentiment pretty quickly, and the pit gets the craziest yet as that record ends with SK8 or Die.

Life Of The Party remains a ska classic that takes the pit up yet another notch.  The epic Surfin’ in Tofino is sight to behold too, which sees everyone stoop low to the ground for the breakdown, before all jumping up simultaneously when the songs boots back to life as balloons rain down from the balcony.  J’aime ta Femme (I Like Your Girl) rounds off the main set in carnival style.

The encore starts with Matt doing the closest thing the band will probably ever do to a solo acoustic number, with just himself and his guitar-strumming ska riffs, before being slowly joined by the rest of the band. Keyboardist Patrizio McLelland insists they add Mission Aborted to the setlist, which sounds particularly awesome, before their classic covers of Monkey Man and You’re Wondering Now close out the night for good, bang on 1am.  An awesome night overall, and an infinitely better way to spend a Saturday night than staying in a dark powerless house!

The Planet Smashers Setlist 

  • Missionary’s Downfall
  • The Hippopotamus
  • Fabricated
  • No Self Control
  • Wish I Were American
  • Evaluation Day
  • Blind
  • Stupid Present
  • Struggle
  • It’s Over
  • Hey Hey
  • Goin’ Out
  • Record Collector
  • Rambler
  • Sk8 or Die
  • Life of the Party
  • Too Much Information
  • Too Much Attitude
  • Surfin’ in Tofino
  • J’aime ta Femme (I Like Your Girl)
  • Encore
  • (Unknown)
  • Mission Aborted
  • Monkey Man (Toots & The Maytals cover)
  • Super Orgy Porno Party
  • You’re Wondering Now (Andy and Joey cover)

Review & photos – Simon Williams

Share this :

Submit a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.